Our Community

What Makes ABC Work?

We rely on the efforts of many dedicated people.
Here is a list of them:

The Staff and Teachers at Darien High School

Host Families 2022-23
Laura & Jay Baum
Sunny & Duane Biasi
Jeanine & Todd Bortel
Marli & Patrick Hayes
Alyson & Hank Johnson
Nia & John Monaghan
Marella Oviedo & Brian Lonergan
Sara & Greg Parent

Board Members
A board of 20+ manage the operation of the program (see list on right). This includes student selection, student support, house and ground maintenance, fundraising, transportation, educational and cultural enrichment, alumni relations and host family selection and support.  

ABC in Darien Board List Archive 1980 - 2022

In-Kind Supporters - see here

Interested in becoming a Host Family, Board Member, Friend of the Board, or Scholar Driver?

Please reach out to us!

Contact Us Here

Board Members  2022-23

  • Kristine Gould, Co-President
  • Nadene Reid, Co-President
  • Robin Ackerman
  • Luisa Brakman
  • John Briggs
  • Carolyn Brook
  • Chadae Bowler
  • Tegwyn Collins
  • Yvette Eenkema van Dijk
  • Sandy Filmer
  • Kate Watts-Gregory
  • Jennifer Ladd
  • Rod Lowe
  • Greer McCarthy
  • Jackie Scott
  • Kimberly Servas
  • Justine Stewart
  • Lynn Sullivan
  • Anne Thomas
  • Sarah Thomas
  • Susan Wilson
  • Theresa Vogt
  • Jane Yezzi
  • Marisa Keen - Resident Director
  • Jim Conrad - Resident Director

Friends of the Board

  • Pat Cage
  • Wendy Hopper
  • Beth Horan
  • Karen Jespersen
  • Isa Moneypenny
  • Sherry Ramsay
  • Katherine & Sharad Samy
  • Christine Sullivan

Host Family Photos

Saige & the Baum Host Family

Keziah & the Monaghan Host Family

Yenairis & the Lonergan Host Family

Kiara & the Bortel Host Family

Ashley & the Hayes Host Family

Amaya & the Biasi Host Family

Yainnix and the Parent Host Family

Cassy and the Johnson Host Family