A Better Chance in Darien

What Makes A Better Chance Work?


We rely on the efforts of many dedicated people. Here is a list of them:


Darien High School www.darienps.org/dhs


Host Families and Scholars 2016-17


Dawn and Patrick Edgar

Hassana Arbubakrr (2020)


Jennifer and Graham Hill

Jenelsy Lopez (2018)


Karen and Brad Elders

Angie Jimenez (2019)


Kristin and Ed Kosnik

E'Sachi Smalls (2019)


Bob and Minina Johnston

Alexus Mitchell (2020)



Yvette Eenkema vanDijk and Carolyn Brook


Resident Directors:

Beth and Peter Horan


Board Members

A board of 20+ Darien residents manage the operation of the program (see list on right). This includes student selection, student support, house and ground maintenance, fundraising, transportation, educational and cultural enrichment, alumni relations and host family selection and support.



ABCBookLogoSM1b1ABC in Darien Board List Archive

1980 - 2016



ABCBookLogoSM1b1aSee our In Kind Supporters here

Current Board Members 2016-17


  • Yvette Eenkema van Dijk, Co-President
  • Carolyn Brook, Co-President
  • Robin Ackerman
  • Carol Cheswick
  • M’Liss Conetta
  • Sandy Filmer
  • Evelyn Infurna
  • Francis Janosco
  • Bob Johnston
  • Lawrence LeHan
  • Annette Madden-Kline
  • Marcia Meinerth
  • Shyamla Menon
  • Christopher Olmstead
  • Sharad Samy
  • Jackie Scott
  • Nancy Stein
  • Susan Wilson
  • Jane Yezzi
  • Amy Zabetakis

Resident Directors

  • Beth Horan
  • Peter Horan

Executive Director

  • Pat Cage

Home | Students | What makes it work? | Our Newsletter | Get Involved | Contact Us | Login


site by Redpoint Design


The 2016-17 ABC in Darien Scholars